Moore, Augustus and McWilliams-Franklin Named to the 2024 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL – The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced this past Thursday that former Minnesota Lynx superstars Maya Moore, Seimone Augustus and Taj McWilliams-Franklin were all named as 2024 inductees into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

“I am elated that Maya, Seimone, and Taj have been recognized by the WBHOF for their hall of fame careers,” said Minnesota Head Coach and President of Basketball Operations Cheryl Reeve. “They each played an integral role in forming the championship identity of the Minnesota Lynx. Maya was not only a prolific scorer, but she also impacted the game defensively. I have many memories of Maya doing ‘Maya things’ to impact winning. She is unequivocally one of the greatest basketball players of all time. Seimone is one of the greatest one-on-one players the game of basketball has ever seen. It was a thrill to watch Seimone give defenders fits with her patented crossover move and ‘Mone floaters’. Taj is one of the most intelligent players I have ever coached. Her attention to detail in the finer points of the game, her patented jumper and her rebounding made her a winner. On behalf of the organization, congratulations to all three of these legendary players. I cherish the time we had together in Minnesota.”

Maya Moore was part of all four of Minnesota’s WNBA championships in 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2017 and was named the Finals MVP in 2013. Throughout her career, the Jefferson City, Mo. native garnered the 2011 Rookie of the Year, 2014 WNBA MVP, three-time All-Star Game MVP (2015, 2017, 2018), the 2018 WNBA Community Assist Award and was named as one of the top-25 most influential players in WNBA history in 2021. She was also named Player of the Week 20 times and Player of the Month 10 times. Her WNBA accolades also include All-Rookie in 2011, All-WNBA First Team in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017, All-WNBA Second Team in 2012 and 2018 and All-Defensive Second Team in 2014 and 2017.

After being selected as the first pick of the 2011 WNBA Draft out of the University of Connecticut, Moore’s professional career spanned from 2011 to 2018, all with the Minnesota Lynx. She played in 271 career games (all starts) and owned career averages of 18.4 points, 5.9 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 1.7 steals. Throughout her eight-year career, Moore totaled 4,984 points, 1,589 rebounds, 895 assists, 451 steals and 176 blocks. Moore officially announced her retirement from her illustrious career on January 16, 2023.

Seimone Augustus cemented her legacy in basketball history during her career with the Minnesota Lynx, highlighted by her four WNBA Championships. Augustus, who played collegiately at Louisiana State University, was selected as the number one pick of the 2006 WNBA Draft by the Lynx and went on to win Rookie of the Year. Various other awards garnered throughout Augustus’ career include 2011 WNBA Finals MVP, seven Player of the Week recognitions, one Player of the of the Month for July 2011 and was also selected as part of the WNBA’s top-25 most influential players during the WNBA’s 25th anniversary season in 2021. She was named a WNBA All-Star in eight different seasons and earned seven All-League honors, including 2006 All-Rookie, one All-WNBA First Team (2012) and five All-WNBA Second Team (2006, 2007, 2011, 2013, 2014).

The Baton Rouge, La. native played for 15 seasons, 14 seasons in a Lynx jersey. She averaged 15.4 points, 3.1 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 0.7 steals. She saw action in 391 career games (365 starts) and totaled 6,005 points, 1,228 rebounds, 911 assists, 281 steals and 132 blocks. She ranks in the top 10 in WNBA history in various statistical categories, including eighth in field goals (2,455) and sixth in two-point field goals (2,162). Augustus announced her retirement from her professional playing career on May 13, 2021.

Taj McWilliams-Franklin is a two-time WNBA champion having won in 2008 with the Detroit Shock and she was an integral part of Minnesota’s first WNBA Championship in 2011. Her professional career spanned across 14 seasons in which she saw time with the Orlando Miracle, the Connecticut Sun, the Los Angeles Sparks, the Washington Mystics, the Detroit Shock, the New York Liberty and the Minnesota Lynx. The six-time WNBA All-Star officially completed her playing career after the 2012 season.

After being selected in the 1999 WNBA Draft 32nd overall, the El Paso, Texas native saw action in 440 career games (436 starts) and averaged 11.4 points, 6.8 rebounds, 2.0 assists, 1.3 steals and 1.0 block.  McWilliams-Franklin’s statistical career totals rank in the top 10 in WNBA history in various spreads, including 10th in two-point field goals (1,916), third in offensive rebounds (1,062) ninth in total rebounds (3,013) and 10th in blocks (443). Her accolades include All-WNBA Second Team (2005 and 2006), All-Defensive Second Team (2005), three Player of the Week honors and she was also honored in 2005 with the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award.