Sylvia Fowles Receives 2022 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL – The WNBA announced today that Minnesota Lynx center Sylvia Fowles is the recipient of the 2022 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award.  

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. The award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer. 

“Syl is such a worthy recipient of the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award as she is one of the most beloved WNBA players of all time,” said Head Coach and General Manager Cheryl Reeve. “Through her unwavering humility, kindness, and class, she truly has been an inspiration to teammates, coaches, staff, opposing players, fans and community members. Her on and off court legacy will forever live on throughout our league.”  

Fowles received 36 votes from a panel consisting of 56-national sportswriters and broadcasters. Briann January (Seattle Storm) received eight votes, Kelsey Mitchell (Indiana Fever) and last year’s recipient Nneka Ogwumike (Los Angeles Sparks) each received three votes. Alysha Clark (Washington Mystics) and Shey Peddy (Phoenix Mercury) each received two votes while Allisha Gray (Dallas Wings) and A’ja Wilson (Las Vegas Aces) tallied one vote each. 

This is Fowles’ first award in the category of her career and marks just the second time in league history that the award was given to a member of the Minnesota Lynx (Teresa Edwards, 2004).   

Fowles, 6-6, led the league in rebounds (9.8) and holds the single-game high for most rebounds in a game (20 on June 1 at Atlanta). She wrapped up her 15th and final WNBA season by starting in all 30 of her games played and led the league with a 62.2 field goal percentage. The 36-year-old posted 13 double-doubles in 2022, raising her career total to league-high 193, including 101 in a Lynx uniform. Fowles registered a season-high 26 points and 14 rebounds on May 10 at Indiana, finishing with five games with 20+ points/10+ rebounds this season (77 career). In her final regular season game at Target Center on August 12 vs. Seattle, she became the all-time leading rebounder in Lynx history with 2,174, passing Rebekkah Brunson. In the final game of her career on August 14 at Connecticut, Fowles became the only player in WNBA history to surpass 4,000 career rebounds. 

Fowles’ dedication to the communities where she has lived and played have long-benefitted from her commitment to community. Throughout her time in Minnesota, Fowles has been an advocate for youth health and wellness. In her final season, the community celebrated “Syl’s Final Ride,” a campaign supporting Fowles’ off-court passions, including youth, biking and food access. Fowles partnered with Free Bikes 4 Kidz MN, Slow Roll Twin Cities, and Appetite For Change to host bikes rides and plant beets at a community garden to raise awareness around access to fresh food in North Minneapolis.  

In honor of being named the 2022 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, Fowles will receive a specially designed crystal by Tiffany & Co. 

Below are the voting results for the 2022 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of all-time winners. 




Player Team Votes 

Sylvia Fowles Minnesota Lynx 36
Briann January Seattle Storm 8
Kelsey Mitchell Indiana Fever 3
Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks 3
Alysha Clark Washington Mystics 2
Shey Peddy Phoenix Suns 2
Allisha Gray Dallas Wings 1
A’ja Wilson Las Vegas Aces 1




2022 Sylvia Fowles Minnesota Lynx
2021 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks
2020 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks
2019 Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks
2018 Sue Bird Seattle Storm
2017 Sue Bird Seattle Storm
2016 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2015 DeLisha Milton-Jones Atlanta Dream
2014 Becky Hammon San Antonio Stars
2013 Swin Cash Chicago Sky
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2012 Kara Lawson Connecticut Sun
2011 Sue Bird Seattle Storm
Ruth Riley San Antonio Stars
2010 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2009 Kara Lawson Sacramento Monarchs
2008 Vicky Johnson San Antonio Stars
2007 Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever
2006 Dawn Staley Houston Comets
2005 Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun
2004 Teresa Edwards Minnesota Lynx
2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs
2002 Jennifer Gillom Phoenix Mercury
2001 Sue Wicks New York Liberty
2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting
1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers
1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks