Lynx Radio Play-By-Play Announcer John Focke Nominated for 2017 Minnesota State Sportscaster of the Year

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL – Minnesota Lynx Radio Play-by-Play Announcer John Focke has been nominated for Minnesota State Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sports Media Association (NSMA). The nomination is Focke’s first in his three-year career as the radio voice of the Lynx.

Finalists were nominated by NSMA members in each state who nominated up to three people for each category. The top two vote-getters (plus ties) are placed on the Final Ballot in the state categories and the top ten (plus ties) go on the National Ballot, which will be voted on by NSMA members throughout December. Winners will be notified and announced in mid-January. The NSMA consists of over 800 leading sportscasters and sportswriters throughout the country. Winners will be honored as part of the 59th annual NSMA Awards Weekend, June 23-25, 2018, in Winston-Salem, NC.

Nominees for Minnesota Sportscaster of the Year

  • Dan Barreiro, KFAN, Minneapolis
  • John Focke, Lynx Radio Network, Minneapolis
  • Cory Provus, Go 96.3 Twins Radio Network, Minneapolis

About John Focke

John Focke wrapped up his third season as the full-time Play-by-Play Announcer for all Minnesota Lynx games following the 2017 Lynx title run. Focke joined the Lynx Radio Network as Producer and Studio Host before the start of the 2008 season. Beginning in 2012, Focke acted as Play-by-Play Announcer for Lynx road games before moving into the full-time position beginning with the 2015 season. He is also the Producer and Studio Host for all Timberwolves games.

Prior to joining the Timberwolves and Lynx, Focke was the voice of Northern Michigan University Hockey as well as the host of the University’s football and basketball pregame, half-time and post-game shows, in addition to providing color commentary for the games.

A native of St. Paul, Focke graduated from Ohio University in 2002 before starting his career as a sports director at KATE Radio in Albert Lea, MN where he called play by play for the local high school and covered the Wolves, Twins, Vikings, Wild and Gophers. He also spent a year with the Minnesota Wild as a part time producer with the Wild Radio Network.

About The National Sports Media Association

Headquartered in Salisbury, NC, the National Sports Media Association membership consists of approximately 800 leading sportscasters and sportswriters from throughout the country. More than 80 sports media legends have been inducted into the organization’s Hall of Fame, which began in 1962 with the induction of Grantland Rice. The NSMA hosts an awards weekend each spring that honors a Sportscaster of the Year and Sportswriter of the Year from each state, as well as a National Sportscaster and Sportswriter of the Year. A Hall of Fame induction ceremony takes place at this time as well.