Lynx Finalize 2013 Regular Season Roster

The Minnesota Lynx today announced the team has waived center Shawnice Pepper Wilson. The move finalizes the roster at 11 players in preparation for the teams Home Opener against the Connecticut Sun on Saturday, June 1 at 7 p.m.

This years squad returns seven players from last years Western Conference Championship winning team, highlighted by a trio of gold-medal-winning Olympians (Seimone Augustus, Maya Moore, Lindsay Whalen) and 2011 WNBA All-Star Rebekkah Brunson. Monica Wright also returns, fresh off of her best season as a pro in which she averaged 8.6 points on a career-best 45.8% shooting (36.4% from three-point range) in 19.4 minutes per game. Amber Harris, 2011 No. 4 overall pick, and Devereaux Peters, 2012 No. 3 overall pick, round out the returning Lynx.

New faces on this years team include former Golden Gopher Janel McCarville, who was acquired in a three-team offseason trade. A teammate with Whalen during Minnesotas magical 2004 Final Four run, McCarville last played in the WNBA in 2010, averaging 8.8 points, 5.9 rebounds and 2.2 assists per game with the New York Liberty.

Joining McCarville in their first seasons with the Lynx is a trio of rookies: Rachel Jarry, Lindsey Moore and TaShauna Sugar Rodgers. Jarry, originally acquired from Atlanta in a draft-day trade in 2011, has spent the past five seasons playing in the WNBL and won a bronze medal with Australia at the 2012 Summer Olympics in London. Moore was the teams first-round pick out of Nebraska in the 2013 WNBA Draft, finishing her collegiate career as the school all-time leader in games (132), wins (94) and assists (699). Rodgers was selected by the Lynx with the 14th overall pick in the 2013 WNBA Draft, leaving Georgetown as the all-time leading scorer (male or female) in school history with 2,518 career points.

Minnesotas coaching staff returns for its fourth consecutive season together after leading the squad to back-to-back WNBA Finals appearances in 2011 and 2012. Head Coach Cheryl Reeve is joined behind the bench by assistants Shelley Patterson and Jim Petersen.

The 15th season of professional womens basketball in Minnesota kicks off Saturday, June 1, at 7 p.m. when the Lynx take on the Connecticut Sun. Beginning as low as $18 per game or $187 for a full season package, fans can purchase tickets by calling the Lynx at 612-673-8400 or by visiting

2013 Regular Season Roster
Number Name Position Height Birthdate College/From Years
33 Seimone Augustus G 6-0 04/30/84 Louisiana State '06 7
32 Rebekkah Brunson F 6-2 12/11/81 Georgetown '04 9
6 Amber Harris F 6-5 01/16/88 Xavier '11 2
12 Rachel Jarry F 6-1 12/06/91 Australia R
4 Janel McCarville F/C 6-2 11/03/82 Minnesota '05 6
00 Lindsey Moore G 5-8 06-03-91 Nebraska '13 R
23 Maya Moore F 6-0 06/11/89 Connecticut '11 2
14 Devereaux Peters F 6-2 10/08/89 Notre Dame '12 1
15 Ta'Shauna Rodgers G 5-9 12/08/89 Georgetown '13 R
13 Lindsay Whalen G 5-9 05/09/82 Minnesota '04 9
22 Monica Wright G/F 5-10 07/15/89 Virginia '10 3

For more news and notes on the team follow the Minnesota Lynx on Twitter.